Record number of political parties standing to win seats in upcoming London Assembly elections

By Joe Talora, local democracy reporter

A record number of political parties are standing to win the London-wide seats in the upcoming London Assembly elections.

In total, 171 candidates representing 18 different political parties will compete to win the 11 seats that represent the whole of London and are decided using a form of proportional representation.

The remaining 14 seats are constituency seats that will be contested by 78 candidates, with the winners determined by a simple majority in each constituency.

In addition to candidates representing the main political parties for the London-wide seats will be candidates representing single-issue parties such as Rejoin EU and the Animal Welfare Party as well as smaller parties such as UKIP and ReformUK (formerly the Brexit Party).

Among those running for a London-wide seat on the London Assembly are London Mayoral candidates Shaun Bailey and Sian Berry, who will be looking to retain their seats on the Assembly, as well as UKIP’s Peter Gammons and Brian Rose, who recently announced the formation of the London Real Party.

The full list of parties running for the London-wide seats is as follows:

.             Animal Welfare Party

.            Christian Peoples Alliance

.            Communist Party of Britain

.            Conservatives

.            Green Party

.            Heritage Party

.            Labour Party

.            Let London Live

.            Liberal Democrats

.            Londependence

.            London Real Party

.            National Liberal Party

.            ReformUK

.            Rejoin EU

.            Social Democratic Party

.            Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

.            UKIP

.            Women’s Equality Party

Each party has by now submitted a list of up to 25 candidates it wishes to stand for the London-wide seats.

The winners of these 11 seats will be determined using a mathematical formula that is designed to be more representative of the vote share and takes into account the number of constituency seats that each party has won.

There are 11 rounds of calculations, one for each seat, with seats allocated to candidates of winning parties based on the order they appear on their party’s list.

Londoners will receive three ballot papers on May 6: one for the Mayor of London, one for the London-wide Assembly members and one for the constituency Assembly members.


Please support your local paper by making a donation



Please make cheques payable to “MSI Media Limited” and send by post to South London Press, Unit 112, 160 Bromley Road, Catford, London SE6 2NZ

Housing Secretary Robert Jenrick has encouraged everyone in the country who can afford to do so to buy a newspaper, and told the Downing Street press briefing recently: “A free country needs a free press, and the newspapers of our country are under significant financial pressure”.

So if you have enjoyed reading this story, and if you can afford to do so, we would be so grateful if you can buy our newspaper or make a donation, which will allow us to continue to bring stories like this one to you both in print and online.

Everyone at the South London Press thanks you for your continued support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *