Charlton Athletic v AFC Wimbledon team line-ups: Scott Wagstaff faces former club in EFL Trophy


Scott Wagstaff starts for AFC Wimbledon tonight against his former club Charlton Athletic in tonight’s EFL Trophy tie at The Valley.

The midfielder, snapped up on a free transfer following his release by Gillingham in the summer, is joined be other experienced campaigners in the shape of James Hanson and Tom Soares.

There is also a start for recent loan signing Jake Jervis.

Toby Sibbick starts for AFC Wimbledon
Photo: Paul Edwards

Naby Sarr captains the home side with Mark Marshall, Ben Reeves, Igor Vetokele and Jed Steer all getting game time – the latter making his debut.

Charlton: Steer, Dijksteel, Sarr, Yao, Marshall, Reeves, Morgan, Lapslie, Maloney, Hackett-Fairchild, Vetokele. Subs: Maynard-Brewer, Ajose, Mascoll, Blumberg.

AFC Wimbledon: McDonnell, Thomas, Sibbick, McDonald, Wagstaff, Hartigan, Jervis, Garratt, Soares, Pinnock, Hanson. Subs: King, Purrington, Nightingale, Appiah, Barcham.

Please support your local paper by making a donation



Please make cheques payable to “MSI Media Limited” and send by post to South London Press, Unit 112, 160 Bromley Road, Catford, London SE6 2NZ

Housing Secretary Robert Jenrick has encouraged everyone in the country who can afford to do so to buy a newspaper, and told the Downing Street press briefing recently: “A free country needs a free press, and the newspapers of our country are under significant financial pressure”.

So if you have enjoyed reading this story, and if you can afford to do so, we would be so grateful if you can buy our newspaper or make a donation, which will allow us to continue to bring stories like this one to you both in print and online.

Everyone at the South London Press thanks you for your continued support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *