Charlton Athletic v Portsmouth team line-ups: Ahearne-Grant unlucky to lose starting spot as Clarke and Solly both start

Billy Clarke and Chris Solly both start Charlton Athletic’s home game against Portsmouth today.

The match celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Addicks returning to The Valley – which was clocked up on Tuesday.

Pompey were the opposition in 1992 with Colin Walsh’s early goal deciding the contest in favour of the South London outfit.

The EFL Trophy win in midweek at Swansea ended a three-game winless spell for Charlton although boss Karl Robinson made wholesale changes.

Karlan Ahearne-Grant is unlucky to make way. Despite netting in three successive matches he is replaced in the starting line-up by Clarke, who has been missing since November 7.

The Addicks have a strong bench with Jason Pearce, Harry Lennon and Leon Best all included.

Charlton: Amos, Solly, Konsa, Sarr, Dasilva, Aribo, Forster-Caskey, Marshall, Holmes, Clarke, Magennis. Subs: Phillips, Jackson, Pearce, Best, Reeves, Ahearne-Grant, Lennon.

Portsmouth: McGee, Rose, Clarke, Burgess, O’Keefe, Pitman, Lowe, Chaplin, Thompson, Evans, Haunstrup. Subs: Bass, Kennedy, Main, Bennett, Talbot, May, Casey.

Please support your local paper by making a donation



Please make cheques payable to “MSI Media Limited” and send by post to South London Press, Unit 112, 160 Bromley Road, Catford, London SE6 2NZ

Housing Secretary Robert Jenrick has encouraged everyone in the country who can afford to do so to buy a newspaper, and told the Downing Street press briefing recently: “A free country needs a free press, and the newspapers of our country are under significant financial pressure”.

So if you have enjoyed reading this story, and if you can afford to do so, we would be so grateful if you can buy our newspaper or make a donation, which will allow us to continue to bring stories like this one to you both in print and online.

Everyone at the South London Press thanks you for your continued support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *